Pear and port crumble

This is one of my favourite recipes. Mainly because I made it up and everyone loves it so that makes me feel squishy inside. And secondly because it requires zero measuring or weighing just a lot of ‘judging’ by eye. My favourite sort of baking!

Get some pears. I used 8. Tonight I used fresh so I peeled, cored and chopped them (roughly).

While I was doing this, Will was making the crumble. Crumble is such an ace thing for kids to make – they can’t really go wrong AND they get to get their hands dirty. What’s not to love?

image

I used a whole block of butter (250g), a heap of flour (I would estimate 400g) and a pile of sugar (half a packet so I reckon about 500g). I don’t like my crumble healthy.

I sloshed a healthy amount of port over the pears (that I’d put in the crumble dish), covered them with foil and put them in the oven at 150 degrees centigrade for almost 2 hours. I checked on them every now and then and gave them a stir and a splash more port. Ahem.

While this was happening I got involved with the crumble.

image

It’s for tomorrow night so I had time to take the pears out the oven and leave them to cool, still under the foil, before putting the quite frankly unnecessary amount of crumble on top. Tomorrow I will bake it for around 45 minutes until it is golden and bubbly and then eat it with plenty of cream.

Bloody lovely.

One thought on “Pear and port crumble

Leave a Reply

