3 little words

There was a time, when there was a chance, that William would never talk. I let myself believe that. I had to. The road to speech has been long and hard. There have been a lot of tears and tantrums and they have mainly been from me. Speech therapy, let me tell you, is like some kind of torture for mothers.

Last night I was putting on William’s shoes to go out and he tapped me and signed AND said “where mummy coat?”

A 3 word sentence.

An actual, plausible, reasonable, wonderful, glorious, heart warming, three-freaking-word sentence.

This time my friends, my tears were of such pride. My baby is getting there. He says more and more every day and his words are getting clearer with time.

And now I know that in time, there will be more of these tears of joy, and less tears of frustration, anger and guilt.

And that makes it all worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

